Concordat of Intercommunion

To all the faithful in Christ be it know that;

In February 2007, National Catholic Church of North America, Inc. and Catholic Church, Inc. acted on an ecumenical proposal of historic importance to the two churches reflecting a doctrinal consensus that had developed over the past five years. This coupled with an increasing urgency for the church to proclaim a gospel of unity to society lead to a discourse culminating in this proclamation.

With this in mind and desiring to bear visible witness to the unity of the Church, and hearing the call to engage together in God’s mission, it was agreed that:

National Catholic Church of North America, Inc. and Catholic Church, Inc. declare on the basis of A Common Calling they adopt this Concordat that they are in full communion with one another.

The term “full communion” is understood here to specifically mean that the two churches:

Recognize each other as churches in which the gospel is rightly preached and the sacraments rightly administered according to the Word of God and the Tradition of the Catholic Apostolic faith;

Will maintain the pre-eminence of Apostolic Succession and will ensure that all ordained ministers are ordained within Apostolic Succession using the approved rite of the individual church;

Will continue to recognize each other’s Baptism and authorize and encourage the sharing of the Eucharist among their members;

Recognize each other’s various ordained clergy;

Establish appropriate channels of consultation within the existing structures of the churches and in accord with each church’s Code of Canon Law;

Commit themselves to sharing with each other their Code of Canon Law so that each church will maintain an understanding of the governance of the other;

Commit themselves to an ongoing process of theological dialogue in order to clarify further the common understanding of the faith and foster its common expression in evangelism, witness, and service;

This document assumes the doctrinal consensus that the churches will adhere to the first Seven Ecumenical Councils which are those recognized by the whole of Christendom, held respectively in: Nicea (325); Constantinople (381); Ephesus (431); Chalcedon (451); Constantinople (553); Constantinople (680); and, Nicea (787). That they recognize the true presence of Christ in the Eucharist, will recognize the seven traditional sacraments of the one holy catholic and apostolic church, and will avoid ancient and modern heretical statements.

Further, the bishops of each church reaffirm their ordination promises to protect the true faith of the universal church.

By formal adoption at the highest levels of the church, this Concordat, based on A Common Calling, the churches acknowledge that they are undertaking an act of strong mutual commitment. They are making pledges and promises to each other. The churches recognize that full commitment to each other involves serious intention, awareness, and dedication. They are binding themselves to far more than merely a formal action; they are entering into a relationship with gifts and challenges, and possibly changes for both.

Either party can terminate this Concordat by providing written notice with the reason(s) for termination to the other party.

The churches declare, under the guidance of the triune God, that they are fully committed to this Concordat and are capable of being, and remaining, pledged to the above-described mutual affirmations in faith and doctrine. This Concordat responds to the ecumenical conviction that is shared by the National Catholic Church of North America, Inc. and Catholic Church, Inc. that we will show a visible unity of the Church and concern for engagement in the struggles of the world.

In testament whereof we, the undersigned bishops of National Catholic Church of North America, Inc. and Catholic Church, Inc. have affixed our hand and seal this Eighteenth day of March in the Year of Our Lord 2008 being the Tuesday of Holy Week.

Filed under: Press Release

Comments are closed.